nobis opus splendeat: we need more glitter

When you think “fertility treatment”, you probably think of medications. Some medications are oral (Clomid is one or more pills one or more times a day for about 5 days a month). Some are suppositories (I have nothing to say here besides EWWWW!). Some are injections – today we’re going to be talking specifically about injections because these are the most disruptive to a normal life-style just by virtue of set-up and lack of portability.

Last cycle my medication was in “pen” form – much like a diabetic has an insulin pen, you just clean the injection site, dial the dose, stab, and press. Even the antagonist (taken later in the cycle) was pre-mixed and the trigger (hcg) was mixed by the nurses and taken only once. The “pens” were in a nice little bag that I could take around with me wherever I was because they have to be taken at the same time every single day for between a week and two weeks.

My response to those drugs was bad. Well, it was okay, but it wasn’t good. This cycle we’re trying a new drug which actually has to be mixed immediately before injection. This is my living room table right now:

And there are 8-10 days of this...

And there are 8-10 days of this…

In a couple more days I’ll go back to the dr, they’ll take a look around, and probably give me the antagonist. This injection is not so nice… this was mine from last cycle:

This one kind of hurts...

This one kind of hurts…

but the word on the street is that I’m getting a different one this cycle, again that has to be mixed. This one has to be taken at exactly 8pm every night. What’s that? You want to have a life? Okay, start packing everything up to take it with you… you don’t want to screw up your $5k or $10k cycle because you didn’t take your injection on time!

But wait – remember the Boxy-Bag from last time? Hmmmm… This is my “Med Bag” rendition of the Boxy Bag.

Minky inside and out for delicate glass vials

Minky inside and out for delicate glass vials

I decided to go for purple minky inside and outside – nice and soft for those delicate glass vials! Additionally I used a purple flannel for what I like to call “overhead compartments”.

Please ensure syringe and needle are safely stowed in the overhead bins... open carefully as contents may have shifted.

Please ensure syringe and needle are safely stowed in the overhead bins… open carefully as contents may have shifted.

I used this successfully yesterday – I was going to be away from home and on the other side of town at lunch, so I took my meds with me! I’ve now regained some of my mobility for the first time this cycle!

Successful stowage of meds.

Successful stowage of meds.

I just want to mention now that it’s Infertility Awareness Week this week. You can find out more about the disease of infertility, infertility etiquette, and what you can do to help at RESOLVE, or the Canadian support site IAAC (even though Canadian Infertility Awareness Week isn’t until May!)

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

