nobis opus splendeat: we need more glitter

new rainbow swap!

I got in on another rainbow swap with Robyn over at Bolohead… this time it’s a fall color swap and I got BURGUNDY.  Standing in the middle of the quilting cottons section in the fabric store I googled BURGUNDY and came up withthis description on Wikipedia:

Burgundy (sometimes wine red or simply wine) is a shade of purplish red associated with the Burgundy wine of the same name, which in turn is named after the Burgundy region of France. The color burgundy is similar to other shades of dark red such as maroon. When referring to the color, “burgundy” is usually not capitalized

Hmm… so it’s a purpley redish sort of browny maroon-ness. This is what I came up with.

Please excuse them looking quite… ummm… pink.

I also whipped up a sort of mug rug for Robyn, by which to remember me and my colors. Here’s the front:

Here’s the back: (I know, PINK, right?)

and here’re the squares, ready to ship 😀

I know some of them are too purple, some are too red, and some are just too darn pink, but I doubt that the other burgundy-er will get fabrics that are exactly BURGUNDY… whatever that might be.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

