nobis opus splendeat: we need more glitter

When I saw this tutorial floating around, I knew I’d found a winner. Being thrown head-first back into fertility treatments again I knew that my cycle was going to be all sorts of screwed up again and so I like to have spare “Princess Pads” at my convenience. I’ve been thinking about a bag for a long time but I didn’t know exactly what I wanted. I made one for someone else last year, and it’s pretty awesome but not quite what was in my vision for myself. So when I saw the box bag, I knew this was it – I need something just as cute as the pads themselves to store the pads in!

My first try, last year.

My first try, last year.

Laminate inside, holds 2-3 Princess Pads.

Laminate inside, holds 2-3 Princess Pads.

I spent most of the last weekend on Princess Pads, but after completing 5 of them I decided to attack the bag. I knew I wanted something cute for the outside – probably something heavier than a quilting cotton – and something cute for the inside – something in a laminate for sure.

I ended up going with a Spoonflower kawaii-type rainbows-sunshine-rainclouds pattern in a cotton canvas for the outside and a rainbow-colored apples pattern from the greenhouse collection for the inside (left over from this project).

Cute on the inside AND the outside! Laminate is waterproof and easy to wipe.

Cute on the inside AND the outside! Laminate is waterproof and easy to wipe.

At first the tutorial was really difficult for me to get a handle on. I’m used to kind of glancing over the instructions and getting a feel for what’s going on, and then winging it myself in my own style. I actually had to sit down and read every word of this tutorial to “get it”, and even then my attention wandered periodically and I ended up ripping stuff out when I didn’t follow her directions.

Exceptionally cute handle and pull tab - the instructions worked perfectly.

Exceptionally cute handle and pull tab – the instructions worked perfectly.

Once I got the hang of what was going on, this bag come together beautifully. I went with the default sizes in the tutorial, just because I didn’t feel like I had a good enough understanding to make adjustments. Now that I understand the pattern I’m planning on making one of different dimensions for a different purpose – carting around my injectable vials of several medications and their mixing mediums, plus everything that goes with them – needles, syringes, alcohol swabs, transfer caps, sharps bag, plus all the other oral medications.

Fits about 4-8 Princess Pads - depending on size. There are 2 big, 2 medium, and 1 little in this one.

Fits about 4-8 Princess Pads – depending on size. There are 2 big, 2 medium, and 1 little in this one.

I just want to mention now that it’s Infertility Awareness Week this week. You can find out more about the disease of infertility, infertility etiquette, and what you can do to help at RESOLVE, or the Canadian support site IAAC (even though Canadian Infertility Awareness Week isn’t until May!)

Comments on: "Infertility Awareness Week – Boxy-Bag" (1)

  1. I love your bag! Fab idea to put the laminate inside – It’d make a great toilet bag too :)
    Good luck!

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 147 other followers

